Skip to content

Windows Apps in a Win 8 Metro App Sidebar? Citrix brings it to you!

by on February 13, 2013

The Windows 8 Citrix Receiver, which is a “metro” app, has been released and provides access to Citrix Apps and Desktops on Windows 8 by leveraging Cloud Gateway. Once logged in, the interface has the (fairly) consistent look and feel of the Citrix Receiver I get on all my devices. My favorites show up and I can access apps and desktops without an issue.

citrix receiver

Windows 8 metro apps can be docked on the side of the screen and the “Desktop” shrinks when doing so. But, you can’t dock traditional 32-bit / 64-bit Windows Apps in this fashion, only the new metro apps.  An example is shown below:

citrix receiver2

But, with the Citrix Receiver for Windows 8, I am able to dock traditional Windows applications to the side and keep them always there. An example with Lync is below:

citrix receiver3

Or OneNote:

citrix receiver4

Anyway, thought I would share this tidbit. I think it is pretty cool.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

