Skip to content

A Scholarly Treatise on the Relative Merits of Persistent VDI Vis-a-Vis Shiny Things, Dude

by on March 20, 2013

I’m not sure if you’re aware, but I’m kind of a big deal.

Oh, my kids and my dogs don’t really give me much respect. My wife wears the pants at home. I take direction from pretty much everybody at work.

But at this stage of my career, I can pretty much have any device or computer I’d like. Tablets, laptops, ultra-books, killer gaming PCs – I’ve had them all and I can have any of them I care to.

The other day, I was talking to one of the other senior managers at Gotham who’s got a similar sort of thing going on. He was complaining about the performance on his souped-up desktop. Pretty much everyone at Gotham is on terminals but this particular manager flexed his super user muscles and got himself a jazzed up desktop.

Super User: “Dude, I need a new PC, this one is already slow.”

Me: “You just got that one and it’s liquid cooled with awesome LED lighting on the case.”

SU: “It’s slow. I should have gotten the one with the blue LED lights. The red lights are slowing it down.”

Me: “Dude, you should get what I’ve got. My computer rocks.”

SU: “Really, what have you got? Just order me one.”

Me: “I’ve got a virtual desktop.”

SU: “Don’t give me that Citrix BS. That’s just how you IT guys save money. I want my own computer. I’m not big on sharing.”

Me: “I’m not talking XenApp here. XenApp is cheaper than a PC. I’m talking persistent, full boat virtual machine. It’s like having your own dedicated part of a server. It’s expensive and it rocks.”

SU: “Really?”

Me: “Look, I can use anything I want and a persistent VDI is my computer of choice right now. Want to know why your computer is slow? Because all of your data is in our data center and it has to keep reaching to the data center to get anything done. Know where my computer is? It’s in the data center. Next to the data. BAM!.”

VDI-BAM

SU: “What if I’m disconnected? What about airplanes?”

Me: “Because I always see you lugging your giant LED-encrusted PC through airport security? Look, it was probably a mistake to mention it. I’m not sure you have the juice for this kind of spend.”

SU: “You’ve got it. Why can’t I get it?”

Me: “I’m not sure if you’re aware, but I’m kind of a big deal.”

SU: “Dude, I’m getting one. What color do the LED’s come in?”

From → Virtualization

Comments are closed.

